A Simple Way to Sidestep Procrastination

by sukhvirk150

Beaker after a failed test.

This is what procrastination looks like.

Make crap.

The first version of whatever you make will be bad. Maybe the first 10 versions. So get them down and out of the way.

If you’re writing something, just write what’s on your mind. The important thing is getting something on the paper. That’s it.Get your fingers moving on the keyboard. Write crap. Maybe something will be good. Fuck it though. You’re not making gold on the first go, trust me.

I recorded some audio for a new product yesterday. I wrote down some ideas and kept going. I feared recording the actual audio. I wanted it to be perfect. I wanted to work out all the kinks on paper before making it real. I kept procrastinating on the page.

The real magic happened when I just recorded something. It was crap, so I deleted it. I recorded something else. Then something else. Then I listened and took notes on what I liked and didn’t like. Then I recorded more.

Now I’ve got 3 recordings done. I’m excited to improve on what I’ve done. To keep building and making it better. I want to finish the product and get it out there as soon as possible.

Whatever you’re working on, you need to get started. Recognize and accept that the first version will be (nearly) complete shit. Just get the crap out there on the page. Then write more crap. Then improve that crap. Hey look, it’s not crap anymore!

Rather than dillying around and wondering where to go next, just make something. Let it be crap. Focus on getting your crap on the page. Then try to make it a little less crappy.

Something is better than nothing. Improve on that something a little bit more. That’s how you make something you’re proud of. By getting the crap out there.

