Throwing away a day

by sukhvirk150

Imagine you’re driving along the road on a bright sunny day. The heat is like a blanket over all the land, and opening your window lets in a fresh, welcome breeze. All of the sudden, your tire pops. Would you toss the car and go on finding a new mode of transportation, or just change the tire and keep going?

This might seem like a simple question, but how often do we throw away our day for one small mistake?

I know that sometimes, when I’m taking a test, if I’m sure I got an answer wrong I let it affect the rest of the test. It doesn’t make sense.

The same thing happens when we wake up in the morning with high hopes of what we want to accomplish in the day. The thing is, each one of us is human. We make mistakes. A day doesn’t have to be perfect for it to be a good day. Even though we might start browsing facebook, twitter, or youtube, a simple and gentle reminder to ourselves often helps us get back on track.

This also shows up in the form of relationships. Sometimes we expect so much from our partner that we magnify their shortcomings and soon forget all of the great things that brought us together. Everyone has something good about them and something bad. Every experience has bad moments and good moments. The beauty of it is we get to choose what to focus on.

Sometimes in life we make mistakes, and it’s easy to imagine that our lives are over now. I’m here to say that’s not true. At one point in my life, I faced 2-3 years of prison. Through God’s grace and the community’s support, we were able to make it through. I was still convicted of a Class B felony in Washington State (the full story is reserved for another date). Yet here I am today, almost 5.5 years later. I’ve finished a BA degree, and have embarked upon the journey of Law School.

There are rarely any mistakes so huge that they’re life-ending. If you’re still alive and still healthy, you’re in great shape to make the best of this moment.

What are some ways you’ve allowed a flat tire to ruin the rest of your day? What are some small things you can do to prevent that from happening next time?

I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.
Michael Jordan

